Plant Molecular Farming – Opportunities and Challenges - PMF

PMF offers production of pharmaceuticals that would be needed in high-volumes at lower costs than presently used production systems applying mammalian cell lines and microbial fermentation.

Client

European Commission Joint Research Centre, Institute for Prospective Technology Studies (IPTS), Seville

Contact
Duration

2007

Projektbericht

In plant molecular farming (PMF) plants are genetically modified for the production of single substances, mostly biopharmaceuticals but also other substances of industrial interests such as food supplements, food and feed additives, diagnostics, fine chemicals.

PMF offers production of pharmaceuticals that would be needed in high-volumes at lower costs than presently used production systems applying mammalian cell lines and microbial fermentation. The fact that economic benefits would be greatest if using food crops in the open field cultivation has sparked a fierce debate in the USA and Canada. In recent years a considerable increase in R & D activities and interest in this technology could be observed in the EU.

The study will review technical, policy and socio-economic aspects of PMF. It will identify the companies active and the products in the pipeline, drivers of and possible obstacles to plant molecular farming will be investigated. The scope of the study is not limited to but focussing on R & D and policy activities in the USA, Canada and the EU.

Research Topic

Plant Molecular Farming – Opportunities and Challenges - PMF

PMF eröffnet Aussichten auf Senkung der Produktionskosten für Biopharmazeutika und eine ökonomisch gangbare Herstellung von Biopharmazeutika, die in hohen Mengen produziert werden müssten.

Auftraggeber

European Commission Joint Research Centre, Institute for Prospective Technology Studies (IPTS), Seville

Kontakt
Laufzeit

2007

Projektbericht

Der Einsatz von genetisch veränderten Pflanzen zur Produktion von Pharmazeutika und anderen industrierelevanten Stoffen wie z.B. Nahrungsergänzungsmittel, Lebensmittel- und Futtermittelzusatzstoffe, Diagnostika und Feinchemikalien wird unter dem Begriff „molecular farming“ (plant molecular farming = PMF) zusammengefasst.

PMF eröffnet Aussichten auf Senkung der Produktionskosten für Biopharmazeutika und eine ökonomisch gangbare Herstellung von Biopharmazeutika, die in hohen Mengen produziert werden müssten. Der bislang von vielen Herstellern verfolgte Einsatz von verbreiteten Nahrungspflanzen und Produktion in landwirtschaftlicher Form im Freiland hat in den USA und Kanada eine kontroversielle Debatte ausgelöst. In jüngster Zeit sind auch in der EU zunehmende R&D Aktivitäten und zunehmendes Interesse an dieser Technologie zu beobachten.

Diese Studie soll einen aktuellen Überblick über technische, sozio-ökonomische und Policy-Aspekte von PMF geben. Kommerzielle Akteure und Produkte in der Entwicklungspipeline sollen identifiziert und die Triebkräfte dieser Entwicklung wie auch mögliche Hemmnisse für und Herausforderungen durch PMF sollen untersucht werden. Die Studie fokussiert im wesentlichen auf Entwicklungen in Nordamerika und in der EU.

Forschungsthema