David Steinwender

David Steinwender

MSc

Schlögelgasse 2, 8010 Graz

David studied environmental systems sciences with a focus on geography at the University of Graz (complementary courses at the University of Vienna, University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences, Graz University of Technology and University of Klagenfurt).  His main focus is urban and regional development.

He co-founded the Forum Urbanes Gärtnern in Graz and is engaged in initiatives for a democratic food policy. He is also active in the Transition Movement and co-initiated Transition Graz and the platform Transition Austria. Moreover, David is involved in the implementation of the Vital Community initiative in St. Nikolai im Sausal and in the DorfUni 2.0 ("Villageversity").

In addition, his commitment includes the support of sustainability initiatives of students. He was head of the department for human rights, social policy and ecology at the Austrian Union of Students at the University of Graz. Currently, he supports sustainability driven young adults as well as students with their ideas through the association forum and the Ökovernetzungsförderverein.

Since September 2020 David is working at IFZ Graz in the research area "Food Systems".

Main fields of acitivity
  • Sustainable food systems
  • resilience
  • grassroots innovations
  • urban and regional development
  • citizen participation
  • climate neutrality

Projects

until 2023

Gesamtprojektlaufzeit: 2021-2023

until 2022

Gesamtprojektlaufzeit: 2021-2022

Publications

David Steinwender

David Steinwender

Schlögelgasse 2, 8010 Graz

Studierte Umweltsystemwissenschaften mit Fachschwerpunkt Geographie an der Universität Graz (ergänzende Lehrveranstaltungen als Mitbeleger an der Universität Wien, Universität für Bodenkultur, TU Graz und Universität Klagenfurt). Zu seinen Schwerpunkten gehören Stadt(teil)- und Regionalentwicklung.
Er ist Mitbegründer des Forum Urbanes Gärtnern und engagiert sich für eine demokratische Lebensmittelpolitik. David ist darüber hinaus in der Transition Bewegung aktiv und initiierte Transition Graz, sowie die Plattform Transition Austria mit. Außerdem wirkt er an der Umsetzung der Vitalen Gemeinde in St. Nikolai im Sausal sowie an der DorfUni 2.0 mit.
Er war Leiter des Referats für Menschenrechte, Gesellschaftspolitik und Ökologie an der ÖH Uni Graz. Aktuell unterstützt er mit dem Verein forum n sowie mit dem Ökovernetzungsförderverein nachhaltigkeitsbegeisterte junge Erwachsene sowie Studierende bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung studentischer Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen.
Seit September 2020 ist David am IFZ Graz im Forschungsbereich "Food Systems" tätig.

Arbeitsschwerpunkte
  • Nachhaltige Lebensmittelsysteme
  • Resilienz
  • Grassroots-Innovationen
  • Stadtteil- und Regionalentwicklung
  • BürgerInnen-Beteiligung
  • Klimaneutralität