Science Education

Science Education descends from theories about the technological constituted society and the need for democratisation of respective education.

Our projects comprise accompanying research of education initiatives and participatory education projects based on the vehicle theory developed at IFZ. The vehicle theory suggests that, for children and youths, scientific and technological knowledge should be mediated through fields of their interest. In one case, the favourite TV series of pupils were used to facilitate technological and social competencies, in another case innovative solutions were explored to facilitate and encourage energy-efficient IT practices together with youths.

All projects are conducted with a gender reflecting tenor: Gender and other social categories are de-dramatised (in order to avoid additional stereotyping) in the process and included as a major field in the reflection by researchers and teachers.

For more information, please contact Anita Thaler.

Research Topic

Our projects on this research topic

The study explores the question of how technical training can become more attractive for young women and diverse young people.

"useITsmartly" develops innovative solutions to facilitate young people's capacity building of "smart IT use", and ideas on how to reach them with the topic environmental impact through IT use.

TransFAIRmation is a project collaboration of IFZ with teachers and students of NMS Albert Schweitzer, which uses a field of interest of children and teenagers (TV series) to elaborate a participatory teaching design facilitating the acquisition of technological and social competencies.

Science Education

Ausgangspunkt des Forschungsthemas „Science Education“ sind Theorien zur technologische Konstitution unserer Gesellschaft und dem daraus abgeleiteten Ruf nach Demokratisierung entsprechender Bildung.

Wir führen Begleitforschung von Bildungsinitiativen durch sowie partizipative Bildungsprojekte, die auf der am IFZ begründeten ‚Vehikeltheorie‘ aufbauen, der zufolge technische und naturwissenschaftliche Lerninhalte idealerweise an Interessensgebiete von Kindern und Jugendlichen angeknüpft werden. In einem Fall werden Lieblingsfernsehserien von Schülerinnen und Schülern genutzt, um technische und soziale Kompetenzen zu fördern, in einem anderen werden gemeinsam mit jungen Menschen innovative Lösungen entwickelt, um energieeffiziente IT-Nutzungs-Praktiken zu befördern.

Alle Projekte folgen dem Anspruch der Gender-Reflexion. Das bedeutet, dass Geschlecht oder andere soziale Kategorien in der konkreten Arbeit entdramatisiert (und so einer verstärkten Stereotypisierung entzogen) werden, in der Reflexion unter den Forschenden und beteiligten Lehrenden dagegen eine große Bedeutung erhalten.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an: MMag. Dr. Anita Thaler

Forschungsthema

Unsere Projekte zu diesem Forschungsthema

Die Studie geht der Frage nach, wie technische Ausbildungen für junge Frauen und diverse junge Menschen attraktiver werden können.

„useITsmartly“ entwickelte innovative Lösungen, um „smarte IT-Nutzung“ junger Menschen zu befördern, und Ideen, wie junge Menschen mit dem Thema Umweltbelastungen durch IT-Nutzung/Energieeffizienz erreicht werden können.

Im Forschungsprojekt transFAIRmation wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Lehrenden und Schüler*innen der NMS Albert Schweitzer ein partizipatives Unterrichtskonzept entwickelt und getestet, in dem mithilfe eines Interessensfeldes von Kindern und Jugendlichen (hier am Beispiel von TV-Serien) technologische und soziale Kompetenzen gefördert werden.