Evaluation

This research approach refers to monitoring and process evaluation as well as impact evaluation. Our evaluations benefit from the interdisciplinarity of the IFZ team. They are often conducted both quantitatively and qualitatively, if possible accompanying the process of implementation, and always ensuring highest scientific quality (e.g. triangulating methods, data and researchers’ perspectives).

For more information, please contact Jürgen Suschek-Berger.

Approach

Our projects on this research approach

The project develops a basis for a regional, autonomous and robust energy cell that ensures a sufficient auxiliary (power) supply in case of failures in the transmission grid, caused by a blackout or a regional extreme weather condition.

In the Kids4Wearables project, fashion is a general area of ​​interest for children and adolescents and is the starting point for the innovation theme Wearables. Wearables are technologies that are usually worn around the body (such as heart rate monitors, smartwatches, but also technologies that help people with a disability in their own autonomy).

IFZ war part of a one-year exploratory project "Smart City Frohnleiten", funded by the "Smart City Initiative" of the Austrian Climate and Energy Fund. In this one-year exploratory phase, the aim was to explore possibilities for sustainable urban development in the city of Frohnleiten.

"useITsmartly" develops innovative solutions to facilitate young people's capacity building of "smart IT use", and ideas on how to reach them with the topic environmental impact through IT use.

The project „Code Studio“ by the Vienna Business Agency will enable children between 10 and 12 years to get to know IT jobs and game programming beyond gender stereotypes in an environment outside school. Thus children should get the possibility to interest themselves for gender-a-typical hobbies and jobs even before they enter the job orientation phase in school.

The core of the project was the active involvement of citizens in Hartberg. Several surveys with the population, qualitative interviews with stakeholders and participation events with citizens of Hartberg were carried out.

Aim of the project was to support standardization processes for the sustainable development of cities and municipalities and to involve stakeholders in these processes.

The „Vienna Science Festival“ (an initiative by the vice-major of Vienna, Renate Brauner) is hosted by the Vienna Business Agency since 2008. Under the collaboration of universities, universities of applied sciences, extra university research institutions and companies from Vienna the event is taking place in 2015 for the forth time. The goal is to bring „science to touch and play“ to a broader audience and show to the general public what and how science is done in Vienna.

Within the framework of the pilot project "Model home 2020", the “Sunlighthouse” in Pressbaum (Lower Austria) was built by VELUX Austria – the first carbon-neutral singl family house in Austria. From March 2012, the “Sunlighthouse” was occupied by a family that also tested its practicability. The "Sunlighthouse" was evaluated with measuring techniques (energy, heat, light, etc.) and in a socioscientific way (satisfaction of the residents, use comfort, living comfort etc.).

The objective of GISAlab is to support girls in discovering and developing their fascination and skills in regard to science and technology by offering them a creative and artistic approach to these fields of interest.

 In this study, affirmative action programmes for women in industrial research are examined.

The project examined the contribution of Smart Meters to the energy reduction of private homes.

Aim of the research project was the optimization of the technology „ventilation system“ as basis for future planning and adjustment. 

In the project a general survey of centralised and semi-centralised mechanical ventilation systems in residential buildings was conducted and the technical solutions, the practical suitability und the acceptance of the occupants were evaluated. Criteria of quality and a planning guideline were developed.

Based on established methods (SWOT-Analysis, Konstellations-analyse, Social Network Analysis) this project delivers decision making tools for units which are responsible for the coordination and/or funding of Energy Regions in order to support them in selecting appropriate activities and measures.

Evaluation

Unter diesem Forschungszugang sind Begleitforschungsaktivitäten im Sinne von Prozessevaluationen und Monitoring, sowie Wirkungsevaluationen subsummiert. Unsere Evaluationen profitieren vom interdisziplinären Hintergrund des IFZ und werden zumeist sowohl quantitativ als auch qualitativ, nach Möglichkeit prozessbegleitend und immer mit dem Anspruch hoher wissenschaftlicher Qualität durchgeführt, z.B. unter Berücksichtigung des Prinzips der Triangulation von Methoden, Daten und Forschenden.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an: Mag. Jürgen Suschek-Berger

Forschungszugang

Unser Projekte zu diesem Forschungszugang

Das Projekt schafft die Basis für eine regionale, autonome und robuste Energiezelle, in der bei größeren Störungen im Verbundsystem, verursacht durch ein Blackout oder durch regionale Extremwetterereignisse, eine ausreichende Not(Strom)Versorgung sichergestellt wird.

Im Projekt Kids4Wearables dient Mode als allgemeines Interessensgebiet von Kindern und Jugendlichen und ist Ausgangspunkt für das Innovationsthema Wearables. Unter Wearables werden Technologien bezeichnet, die meist im Zusammenhang mit Computersystemen, am Körper getragen werden (z.B. Pulsmesser, Smartwatches aber auch Technologien, die Menschen mit einer Beeinträchtigung in ihrer Eigenständigkeit unterstützen).

In this project, possibilities for sustainable urban development in the city of frohnleiten are explored.

„useITsmartly“ entwickelte innovative Lösungen, um „smarte IT-Nutzung“ junger Menschen zu befördern, und Ideen, wie junge Menschen mit dem Thema Umweltbelastungen durch IT-Nutzung/Energieeffizienz erreicht werden können.

Ziel des Projekts war es, Normungsprozesse zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung von Städten und Kommunen zu unterstützen und die wesentlichen Stakeholder und AkteurInnen in diese Prozesse einzubeziehen.

Das "Wiener Forschungsfest", eine Initiative der Wiener Vizebürgermeisterin Mag.a Renate Brauner, wird seit 2008 von der Wirtschaftsagentur Wien veranstaltet. Unter der Zusammenarbeit von Wiener Universitäten, Fachhochschulen, privaten Forschungsinstitutionen und Unternehmen findet die Veranstaltung 2015 zum vierten Mal statt. Ziel ist es, auf verständliche und anschauliche Weise „Forschung zum Angreifen“ zu bieten und einem breiten Wiener Publikum zu zeigen, was und woran in Wien geforscht wird.

Das Projekt „Code Studio“ der Wirtschaftsagentur Wien soll es Kindern im Alter von 10 bis 12 Jahren im Bereich der außerschulischen Kinder- und Jugendbetreuung ermöglichen, IT-Berufe und das Spiele-Programmieren abseits von Geschlechterstereotypen kennenzulernen. Somit soll deutlich vor der Phase der Berufsorientierung im Schulunterricht Kindern die Möglichkeit gegeben werden, sich für nicht-geschlechterstereotype Hobbies und Berufe zu interessieren.

Herzstück des Projekts „Smart City Hartberg“ war die aktive Einbindung der Bevölkerung, für die das IFZ Graz zuständig war. Mehrere Befragungen der Hartberger Bevölkerung, qualitative Interviews mit Stakeholdern und Partizipationsveranstaltungen mit Hartberger BürgerInnen wurden durchgeführt.

Ziel von GISAlab ist es, Mädchen bei der Entdeckung und Entwicklung von Interessen und Fähigkeiten in Bezug auf Naturwissenschaften und Technik zu unterstützen und ihnen einen kreativ-künstlerischen Zugang zu diesen Interessensfeldern zu ermöglichen

Im Rahmen des Pilotprojektes „Model Homes 2020“ wurde von Velux Österreich das „Sunlighthouse“ in Pressbaum (NÖ) erbaut – das erste CO2-neutrale Einfamilienhaus Österreichs. Das „Sunlighthouse“ wurde ab März 2012 für ein Jahr von einer Familie bewohnt und auf seine Praxistauglichkeit getestet. Das Haus wurd messtechnisch (Energie, Wärme, Licht etc.) und sozialwissenschaftlich (Zufriedenheit der BewohnerInnen, Nutzungskomfort, Behaglichkeit etc.) evaluiert.

In dieser Studie werden sogenannte frauenfördernde Maßnahmen in der betrieblichen Forschung untersucht.

In dem Projekt wurde untersucht, welchen Beitrag intelligente Stromzähler bzw. Smart Meters zur Reduzierung des Energieverbrauchs in Privathaushalten leisten können.

Ziel des Projekts war die Optimierung der Technologie „Lüftungsanlage“ als Grundlage für zukünftige Planungen und Einstellungen. Als Praxisbeispiel diente die Passivhaus-Wohnanlage Lodenareal in Innsbruck.

Ziel des Projekts war die Erarbeitung einer Übersicht der in Österreich bestehenden zentralen und semizentralen Wohnraumlüftungen und eine Evaluierung der technischen Lösungen, der Praxistauglichkeit und der Akzeptanz bei den BewohnerInnen sowie die Ausarbeitung von Qualitätskriterien und die Erstellung eines Planungsleitfadens.

Im Projekt wurden Anleitungen zu sachorientierten Methoden erarbeitet, auf die sich Akteure im Umfeld von Regionalmanagement, Ländlicher Entwicklung und Energiepolitik stützen können, wenn Entscheidungen zur Förderung regionaler Energie-Initiativen anstehen.